Dryden Pulp Mill: A Great Combination of … Working at Domtar in Dryden, ON: Employee Reviews
Monday, February 18, 2019

Dryden Pulp Mill: A Great Combination of … Working at Domtar in Dryden, ON: Employee Reviews

Find Jobs Company Reviews Find Salaries Find Resumes Employers / Post Job


Upload your resume


Sign in
Domtar
3.9

205 reviews
data-tn-component=”menu”>

  • Snapshot

  • Why Join Us

  • 205

    Reviews

  • 43

    Salaries

  • 4

    Photos

  • 24

    Jobs

  • 3

    Q&A

Domtar Employee Reviews

Review this company

Ratings by category
3.7Work-Life Balance
4.1Pay & Benefits
3.4Job Security & Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture
Found 62 reviews matching the search See all 205 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date

3.0

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
From Quebec For Quebec
Labourer, Fork Lift Op, Sheeter Opr, Writer (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ON28 November 2018
Was a great secure employer when I started in the ‘80s, however shady acquisitions, political arrangements, and national union manipulations resulted in Carbon Emissions and Energy Consumption along with lack of government intervention, the results were deadly for the Cornwall and various other non Quebec facilities were permanently shut down and demolished.
Pros
Wages and benefits
Cons
Quebec ownerships and governments intimacy.
Was this review helpful? Yes  No  Report

Share

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Copy link

5.0

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Magnìfico grupo, dinámico, servicial
REPRÉSENTANTE SENIOR (Former Employee) –  Montreal, Canadá19 October 2018
La parte más difícil fue cuando implementamos un nuevo software y no funcionaba correctamente. Lo que más me gustó fue el grupo de trabajo.
Pros
Seguro dental, médico.
Was this review helpful? Yes  No  Report

Share

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Copy link

4.0

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Chef de service Vérification interne (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 September 2018
• avec des entreprises dans des domaines manufacturiers internationale et de distribution d’envergure nationale;
• pour rapidement comprendre les besoins des utilisateurs et de recommander des solutions pertinentes, et ce, des équipes de soutien jusqu’aux membres de la haute direction;
• dans l’émission d’évaluations pour améliorer l’efficacité et l’efficience des processus d’affaires de nature financières, opérationnelles et informatiques, incluant la gouvernance;
• à titre d’intervenant avec la haute direction et divers comités.
Pros
Bonis annuelle et fête de bureau pour Noel
Was this review helpful? Yes  No  Report

Share

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Copy link

5.0

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Mécanicien d’engins lourds et mécanicien d’usine (Former Employee) –  Windsor, QC25 August 2018
On en manques jamais de rien a la Domtar de Windsor.
Was this review helpful? Yes 1 No  Report

Share

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Copy link

4.0

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large volume call center.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC24 August 2018
Domtar is a pulp and paper company with offices worldwide.
We were the North American call center with a huge volume of calls.
Extensive training provided with gradual ease into assigned position responding to clients and reps. Very hectic and non-stop volume of inquiries, orders etc. Management is monitoring number and length of calls and is vigilant of logging in and out of being available.
Pros
Excellent training program, learn about industry
Cons
Hectic and production oriented
Was this review helpful? Yes  No  Report

Share

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Copy link

4.0

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
progressive compnay
Sustainable Business Advisor (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON27 July 2018
Domtar is a progressive company that sees itself beyond the pulp and paper world. I am proud to say I worked for the organization . I helped bring forward the innovative ideas they had and I grew as a person as well.
Pros
understands sustainability
Was this review helpful? Yes  No  Report

Share

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Copy link

5.0

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merveilleuse entreprise privée
Adjointe administrative (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 July 2018
Quel plaisir de travailler à cet endroit. Les employés sont engagés sur la base des valeurs de Domtar.

Milieu de travail extra, reconnaissance des employés, etc. Mais malheureusement, le voyagement à Montréal était de trop!

Was this review helpful? Yes  No 1 Report

Share

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Copy link

5.0

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Belle expérience
Commis aux équipements (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON18 June 2018
Outils de travail à la fine pointe. Permet de développer son potentiel. Bons compagnons de travail
Pros
Salaires élevés
Cons
Aucune conciliation travail-famille
Was this review helpful? Yes  No  Report

Share

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Copy link

3.0

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t expect quick advancement
Network Engineer (Current Employee) –  Montreal, Canada22 May 2018
Company tends to exhibit favoritism towards certain employees and there is difficulty getting a promotion in this company even after consecutive high rated performance reviews and being there for almost 5 years. I wouldn’t recommend working here if you expect to quickly advance your career.
Pros
Remote work
Cons
Lack of promotion, career advancement
Was this review helpful? Yes 3 No 1 Report

Share

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Copy link

3.0

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good wages and experience. Poor management.
Steam Plant Assistant Shift Engineer/ Operator (Current Employee) –  Espanola, ON21 April 2018
Great place to learn about a very broad spectrum of equipment encountered in our field.
First class rated plant allows for all required exam time.
Equipment is quite old with much upgading/maintenance needed.
The employees are generally well trained though at present are mostly new to the mill due to a high rate of retirement.
Management has a very, I say 40s style.
Safety is a priority and money is being spent to upgrade equipment.
Rotating 12 hr. shift schedule 3.2.2.3.2.2. Your schedule can and often does change on a weekly basis.
Pros
Plant size and equipment with steam time availability.
Cons
Management style and shift irregularity.
Was this review helpful? Yes 3 No  Report

Share

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Copy link

5.0

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good wage
Student shutdown worker (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC22 March 2018
Didn’t work there long due to it being a temporary position but the pay was great. Big company with lots of employees. Learned social aspects of the workplace.
Was this review helpful? Yes 1 No  Report

Share

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Copy link

1.0

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place, bottom line
Instrumentation Technician (Former Employee) –  Dryden, Ontario9 February 2018
Terrible union that makes up rules as they go along, old DCS technology with no sign of upgrades coming, safety is said to be a priority, but only when a lost time injury occurs, worker suggestions are quickly swept aside "because that’s how we do things here"

One of the worst, most negative, counter-productive, cancerous shops I’ve ever had the displeasure of working in. If there were a minus Star rating, I would have given it.

Good riddance to bad rubbish.

Pros
Decent benefits and alright pay
Cons
Little to no OT, bad shop management, terrible shop politics, unhelpful union, negative shop atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes 9 No 1 Report

Share

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Copy link

2.0

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bare Minimum Work Enviroment
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Espanola, ON3 February 2018
The difference in work environment that I noticed during my 4 years was surprising. Initially upon hiring, you are required to complete a 4 month rotation though the three difference "areas" of the mill and then are placed in your permeant area. After a full year you then complete "shift training" that only lasts about 6 weeks. The training you are given is lacking and does not have much structor other than the power house portion.

During my employment Domtar asked for their employees to complete surveys that covered their opinions regarding management, their duties, workplace culture, safety etc. After completing the surveys the results were shared however nothing was every done to try and improve any of the problems.

Management spend more time trying to keep their job than actually doing their jobs. The management employees are expected to work a lot more than the required 40 hours a week and receive minimum compensation for doing so.

As a maintenance employee the hardest part of my employment there was the constant contracting out of maintenance work. The work are things that their employees are capable of completing however would required additional planning and organizing on the supervisor/planner side. The easiest way to get around that is to contract out the work and assign (in my case) the 20 electricians on site to lightbulb duty.

Working for Domtar was not all bad. The wage is decent and the benefits aren’t terrible. The best part about my experience was working with the maintenance employees on the floor (welders, pipe fitters, millwrights,   more… operators). Despite the harsh environment, most had good attitudes towards each other and across the other trades. Everyone was willing to help each other even if it wasn’t "their job".

Domtar has a lot of potential, however I don’t feel like their will reach it any time soon. Their goal is to teach their employees the bare minimum, provide the bare minimum, and in turn will end of with the bare minimum. The only thing I will miss are the people I worked with, but other than that resigning was the best move for me.   less

Pros
Decent wage/benefits
Cons
Poor work environment, high amount of safety recordables, bare minimum standards
Was this review helpful? Yes 3 No 3 Report

Share

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Copy link

5.0

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved every minute
Operator /Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Thorold, ON11 December 2017
great job lots of room for advancement if you wanted it.
great guys good benefits.

shortage of work layoffs.
company being sold causing layoffs again.

Pros
working
Cons
not working
Was this review helpful? Yes 2 No  Report

Share

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Copy link

1.0

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Winder operator
Winder operator (Former Employee) –  Espanola, ON30 November 2017
I worked at domtar pulp and paper for 6 years and I found that it was slowly going downhill with maintenance and management,it did pay well and had good benefits but I found that it would not be a job I’d want for life.
Was this review helpful? Yes 2 No 2 Report

Share

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Copy link

5.0

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great work environment
Production Technician & Return to Work Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ear Falls, ON29 November 2017
I learned safety, production goals, team work. Lots of room for advancement with the Mill. Moved from Production to Administrative positions within 2 years. Great work culture. Hardest part of my job was leaving as Mill was shutting down. Most enjoyable part of my job was the people I worked with and for.
Pros
Advancement with in.
Cons
Having to leave
Was this review helpful? Yes 1 No  Report

Share

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Copy link

5.0

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Espanola Mill looks like a great place
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nairn16 June 2017
The Domtar I worked at no longer exists so I can’t really rate them anymore. I would like to work at the Espanola Mill in the future so hopefully they hire me.
Was this review helpful? Yes  No 7 Report

Share

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Copy link

4.0

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
coordontaur (Former Employee) –  Montréal-Ouest, QC1 June 2017
Bonne entreprise, bien organisé. Excellente atmosphère d travail
Pros
Culture et ambiance
Cons
securité
Was this review helpful? Yes 3 No 2 Report

Share

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Copy link

5.0

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travaille intéressant
Analyste SAP BW, Consultant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 April 2017
Relation interpersonnelle agréable et bonne ambiance de travail.
Pros
Esprit d’équipe
Cons
Pression des haut dirigants
Was this review helpful? Yes 2 No 1 Report

Share

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Copy link

3.0

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merge made management unconsistant
SALES ACCOUNTING AGENT (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC15 February 2017
I got there in the middle of a merge with Staple.
New credit office created for this reason with new management and not much communication.
Ambience was very cold and competitive.
Was this review helpful? Yes 6 No  Report

Share

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Copy link

5.0

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice enviroment to work
Logistics Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC25 January 2017
Nice place , worked in a team, friendly management.
Office environment , Learned and used SAP everyday. Learned computer skills and involved in projects.
Pros
good benifits
Cons
jobs are being transfered to other head office in USA
Was this review helpful? Yes 4 No 1 Report

Share

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Copy link
1 2 3 4 Next
Claimed Profile
Review this company

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Domtar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9

Based on 205 reviews
577
463
343
214
18

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Questions about Domtar

  • What questions did they ask during your interview?
    2 people answered
  • Are layoff’s frequent?
    One person answered
  • Why would you want to work at Domtar?
    One person answered

See all questions and answers

Domtar Reviews by Job Title

  • Adjoint Administratif (H/F) (2)
  • Electrician (2)
  • Laborer (2)
  • Mechanic (2)
  • Millwright (2)

See more Domtar reviews by job title

Domtar Reviews by Location

  • Montréal, QC
  • Espanola, ON
  • Cornwall, ON
  • Kamloops, BC
  • Windsor, QC

See more Domtar reviews by location

For jobs in Finland, visit fi.indeed.com
Jobs – Browse Companies – Salaries –

Browse Jobs – Employer Events – About – Help Centre

© 2018 Indeed – Cookies, Privacy and Terms

Skip to content


Domtar

  • Industry Insights
  • Ideas and Innovation
  • Making Our Mark
  • Environmental Responsibility
  • Our Company
  • Media Center
    • Locations
    • Executive Bios
    • News
    • Image Gallery
    • Brand Elements
  • Subscribe
  • About | Domtar
  • Contact the Newsroom
Domtar.com

  • Industry
    Insights
  • Ideas and
    Innovation
  • Making Our
    Mark
  • Environmental
    Responsibility
  • Our
    Company
  • Media
    Center

    • Locations
    • Executive
      Bios
    • News
    • Image
      Gallery
    • Brand
      Elements

Newsroom


Dryden Pulp Mill — A Great Combination of People and Location

Domtar makes products that people around the world rely on every day, and we make them at facilities around the world. Each location is as unique as the people who work there. For the first installment in our series of facility profiles, allow us to introduce you to our Dryden Mill .

The Dryden pulp mill sits along the Wabigoon chain of lakes in northwestern Ontario. The city of Dryden is one of the smallest communities in Ontario, but it offers many natural resources that make it well-suited for pulp and paper production and a vibrant home for pulp mill workers and outdoor enthusiasts.

Dryden Pulp Mill Production

The pulp mill has produced kraft pulp since 1913, utilizing the long, fine fibers of the spruce, pine and balsam fir trees that grow in Dryden’s cold climate. The cellulose fibers of these softwood trees produce a strong grade of pulp known as northern bleached softwood kraft, which is used in a variety of paper grades produced across North America.

Bleached kraft pulp is made by cooking wood chips with a chemical solution at high temperature and pressure. The process separates the cellulose fibers from the other parts of the wood. The nearly pure cellulose fibers are washed and bleached, then dried and baled for shipment to manufacturers who make many of the products you use every day.

The pulp’s strength makes it the perfect component for a wide variety of end-uses, such as towel and tissue, printing and writing paper, publication and magazine paper, lightweight coated papers and technical specialty papers. The Dryden Mill supplies pulp to manufacturers in each of these market segments.

Brightness and cleanliness are two other important quality measures in pulp. Each of these affects the end product, such as the brightness of office paper.

Nearly two-thirds of the pulp produced in Dryden is shipped to manufacturers of paper towels and bath and facial tissue. Most of the remaining pulp is used to make copy paper and uncoated offset printing paper, sometimes at other Domtar mills. Some of what’s produced at the pulp mill gets used to make coated publication paper, packaging and label paper, magazine papers and technical specialty paper grades.

Community Involvement

The Dryden pulp mill also plays an important role in its community. The pulp mill is the largest employer in Dryden, supporting more than 350 jobs, and its operations have an estimated regional economic impact of $603.4 million.

For the past 60 years, the pulp mill has sponsored the annual Dryden Conservation Camp in partnership with Dryden High School, the local school board and Ontario’s Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry. Students who attend the camp learn about the many aspects of forestry, including harvesting and renewal, seedling production, inventory, soils and fire management and protection. The firefighting session was especially popular with campers.

Many camp alumni have gone on to pursue careers in resource management. Graduates of the Dryden High School Conservation Course have become foresters, biologists, ecologists and engineers; many others work in one of the many other fields related to resource management.

Mill colleague Dianne Loewen  is coordinator for forestlands and public affairs at the Dryden pulp mill, and she has led the mill’s role in conservation camp for more than a decade. She describes the Dryden community as warm and family-oriented.

“In my experience, you can walk up to just about anybody at the mill and it’s almost guaranteed that they will be involved in a host of volunteer activities, whether it’s coaching a local sports team or participating in the Rotary Club,” she said. “It’s something that I love about my community, in and out of work.”

Learn more about the Dryden pulp mill and other Domtar facilities at the Domtar Paper Trail , a transparency tool that shares the environmental, social and economic effects of Domtar’s operations.






Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest Domtar news delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe

Privacy Policy

Categories:  Making Our Mark , Our Company

Tags:  Conservation Camp , Dryden Mill , pulp mill

Related Posts

  • Domtar Learning Lounge Opens in Johnsonburg, Pennsylvania

  • Domtar Leaders Participate in 2020 Women on Boards Diversity Panel

  • Domtar Volunteers Make a Difference at Camp Blue Skies

Recent Articles

  • Communication Paper Mills Report Record Performance
  • Domtar Learning Lounge Opens in Johnsonburg, Pennsylvania
  • Domtar Leaders Participate in 2020 Women on Boards Diversity Panel
  • Domtar Volunteers Make a Difference at Camp Blue Skies
  • Domtar Quarterly Financial Report: Q3 2018
  • Ashdown Mill: Celebrating 50 Years of Pulp and Paper

Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest Domtar news delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe

Privacy Policy

Skip to content


Domtar

  • Industry Insights
  • Ideas and Innovation
  • Making Our Mark
  • Environmental Responsibility
  • Our Company
  • Media Center
    • Locations
    • Executive Bios
    • News
    • Image Gallery
    • Brand Elements
  • Subscribe
  • About | Domtar
  • Contact the Newsroom
Domtar.com

  • Industry
    Insights
  • Ideas and
    Innovation
  • Making Our
    Mark
  • Environmental
    Responsibility
  • Our
    Company
  • Media
    Center

    • Locations
    • Executive
      Bios
    • News
    • Image
      Gallery
    • Brand
      Elements

Newsroom


Dryden Pulp Mill — A Great Combination of People and Location

Domtar makes products that people around the world rely on every day, and we make them at facilities around the world. Each location is as unique as the people who work there. For the first installment in our series of facility profiles, allow us to introduce you to our Dryden Mill .

The Dryden pulp mill sits along the Wabigoon chain of lakes in northwestern Ontario. The city of Dryden is one of the smallest communities in Ontario, but it offers many natural resources that make it well-suited for pulp and paper production and a vibrant home for pulp mill workers and outdoor enthusiasts.

Dryden Pulp Mill Production

The pulp mill has produced kraft pulp since 1913, utilizing the long, fine fibers of the spruce, pine and balsam fir trees that grow in Dryden’s cold climate. The cellulose fibers of these softwood trees produce a strong grade of pulp known as northern bleached softwood kraft, which is used in a variety of paper grades produced across North America.

Bleached kraft pulp is made by cooking wood chips with a chemical solution at high temperature and pressure. The process separates the cellulose fibers from the other parts of the wood. The nearly pure cellulose fibers are washed and bleached, then dried and baled for shipment to manufacturers who make many of the products you use every day.

The pulp’s strength makes it the perfect component for a wide variety of end-uses, such as towel and tissue, printing and writing paper, publication and magazine paper, lightweight coated papers and technical specialty papers. The Dryden Mill supplies pulp to manufacturers in each of these market segments.

Brightness and cleanliness are two other important quality measures in pulp. Each of these affects the end product, such as the brightness of office paper.

Nearly two-thirds of the pulp produced in Dryden is shipped to manufacturers of paper towels and bath and facial tissue. Most of the remaining pulp is used to make copy paper and uncoated offset printing paper, sometimes at other Domtar mills. Some of what’s produced at the pulp mill gets used to make coated publication paper, packaging and label paper, magazine papers and technical specialty paper grades.

Community Involvement

The Dryden pulp mill also plays an important role in its community. The pulp mill is the largest employer in Dryden, supporting more than 350 jobs, and its operations have an estimated regional economic impact of $603.4 million.

For the past 60 years, the pulp mill has sponsored the annual Dryden Conservation Camp in partnership with Dryden High School, the local school board and Ontario’s Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry. Students who attend the camp learn about the many aspects of forestry, including harvesting and renewal, seedling production, inventory, soils and fire management and protection. The firefighting session was especially popular with campers.

Many camp alumni have gone on to pursue careers in resource management. Graduates of the Dryden High School Conservation Course have become foresters, biologists, ecologists and engineers; many others work in one of the many other fields related to resource management.

Mill colleague Dianne Loewen  is coordinator for forestlands and public affairs at the Dryden pulp mill, and she has led the mill’s role in conservation camp for more than a decade. She describes the Dryden community as warm and family-oriented.

“In my experience, you can walk up to just about anybody at the mill and it’s almost guaranteed that they will be involved in a host of volunteer activities, whether it’s coaching a local sports team or participating in the Rotary Club,” she said. “It’s something that I love about my community, in and out of work.”

Learn more about the Dryden pulp mill and other Domtar facilities at the Domtar Paper Trail , a transparency tool that shares the environmental, social and economic effects of Domtar’s operations.






Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest Domtar news delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe

Privacy Policy

Categories:  Making Our Mark , Our Company

Tags:  Conservation Camp , Dryden Mill , pulp mill

Related Posts

  • Domtar Learning Lounge Opens in Johnsonburg, Pennsylvania

  • Domtar Leaders Participate in 2020 Women on Boards Diversity Panel

  • Domtar Volunteers Make a Difference at Camp Blue Skies

Recent Articles

  • Communication Paper Mills Report Record Performance
  • Domtar Learning Lounge Opens in Johnsonburg, Pennsylvania
  • Domtar Leaders Participate in 2020 Women on Boards Diversity Panel
  • Domtar Volunteers Make a Difference at Camp Blue Skies
  • Domtar Quarterly Financial Report: Q3 2018
  • Ashdown Mill: Celebrating 50 Years of Pulp and Paper

Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest Domtar news delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe

Privacy Policy